NAIS National Conference

This week I am attending the NAIS National Conference. Leaders from around the country gather each year for this development experience. We have a few folks here from Newman who will interviewing teaching candidates at the enormous job fair, and I will be working with my colleagues from around the country in several capacities.

This afternoon I will be attending the town hall meeting on financial sustainability. Here is a description:

“Introducing the first-ever virtual town hall meeting between NAIS Annual Conference goers and the National Business Officers Association (NBOA) Symposium attendees! As NBOA members assemble across town at the Capital Hilton, we’ll gather at the Gaylord National and together we’ll meet virtually to explore “Financial Sustainability: Where Are We Now?” Guided by a panel of experts, we’ll uncover how independent schools can cultivate their financial sustainability to survive – and thrive – in these turbulent times.”

Then this afternoon, I will be joining the Heads of School from all of the schools who have received the $2MM endowment gift from the Malone Foundation. We will be visiting the Maret School and then having several discussions about issues we face as school leaders. I love visiting other schools, seeing their programs, feeling their culture, and looking for great ideas to bring back to Newman. Each trip reaffirms for me what a wonderful place Newman is, and yet I am always reminded that we can be better.

Later this week, I will also be meeting with our benchmark schools. Many of you have heard me refer to JRPO, and I find working closely with these nationally recognized schools to compare data and best practices immeasurably valuable. Of course, the conference itself will have fascinating speakers and interesting presentations from educators from all over the world. I look forward to sharing the ideas with you.

Leave a Reply

